Homemade ice cream and popsicle

Hi!

Whoa, it’s been a month since my last post. So, let me post something tasty and cool to beat the summer heat in Chennai.

At the start of summer vacation for my kids, I tried making two kinds of ice-creams. One was kulfi, which I had done once before and the other was chocolate ice-cream for the first time.

Kulfi recipe:

Ingredients:

  1. 500 ml of milk (full cream or standardised)
  2. 400 gm of Amul Mithai Mate
  3. 100 gm of mixed nuts (pistachios, almonds and cashews)
  4. 100 gm of evaporated milk
  5. 1 tbsp of rice flour or corn flour
  • Grind the nuts coarsely and keep aside.
  • Bring 500 ml of milk to boil in a heavy pan.
  • Add evaporated milk and mix well to ensure that there are no lumps.
  • Add 400 gm of Amul Mithai Mate and mix well.
  • Mix rice flour (or corn flour) with water and add to the mixture. Mix well.
  • Add the coarsely ground nuts and turn the stove off

Let it cool. Before pouring into moulds, give it a twirl to ensure that the nuts are evenly distributed. Freeze for 4 hours before serving.

The kulfi turned out real nummy. I did not have any kulfi/popsicle moulds when I did this, so I used one of my tupperware lunch boxes to freeze. Sorry, the pics are not great.

IMG-20170421-WA0004

Chocolate ice-cream

Ingredients:

  1. 500 ml of milk (full cream or standardised)
  2. 100 gm Chocolate syrup
  3. 100 gm Sugar
  4. 1 tbsp of rice flour or corn flour
  • Bring 500 ml of milk to boil in a heavy pan.
  • Add chocolate syrup and sugar and mix well.
  • Mix rice flour (or corn flour) with water and add to the mixture. Mix well.

Let it cool and pour into moulds. Freeze for 6 hours before serving.

The chocolate ice-cream tasted more like dark chocolate and was not creamy enough, but not bad for a first try. Anyhow, it was a big hit with both my kids. Sorry for the awful quality pic.

IMG_20170421_173839

Orange Popsicle using Tang

Ingredients:

  1. 60 gm of Tang Orange
  2. 600 ml of water
  3. 50 gm of sugar
  • In a pitcher or a bottle, add Tang, water and sugar.
  • Mix well. I used a bottle, so I closed it with the lid and shook it vigourously.
  • Pour into moulds and freeze overnight.

I found a set of popsicle moulds at a local store. It was priced at INR 109 (roughly USD 1.50). When I billed it, I realised that there was a discount on it and I got it for INR 69 (a little over USD 1), yay!

IMG_20170517_100733IMG_20170517_100716

I was delighted to see that the popsicle coming out clean!!

IMG_20170517_100804

My elder daughter Santoshi just tried the popsicle, she loved it!! Made my day, ha!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

