New shower caps from old raincoat

Hi!

This is a post on how I made two shower caps from my elder daughter’s old raincoat. By default, I went to the all-knowing pinterest to get ideas on DIY shower cap and I was impressed by two pins – one by Rochelle and the other by One Thimble.

I did not have any vinyl and most definitely did not want to spend more money on buying vinyl than get a shower cap for INR 28 (roughly 40 cents in USD). I looked into my scrap clutter and came up with this:

IMG_20170418_094527

My mother had bought this for my elder daughter Santoshi in 2014. This is Santoshi wearing it on a rainy day in November 2014:

IMG_1916

Needless to say, Santoshi had outgrown the raincoat a long time back and the raincoat was beginning to tear at all possible joints. But, I was keeping it because it has cute baby looney tunes characters printed and yes, I am a packrat.

Given the usual hot summer in Chennai (a heat wave advisory has been issued for today – 18 April 2017), bath time in the morning with a lot of toys, bubbles and hand shower has become the norm for both my kids. And that, more often than not, ends in tears, “She splashed water on my head, my hair is wet, but I don’t want shampoo”. So, I thought that a shower cap would be a good idea to end this. But, of course, they will find other ways to fight!

Ok, let’s get back to making the shower cap before you close this tab.

Things used:

  • old raincoat (any waterproof material will do)
  • elastic cord
  • scissors
  • polyester thread
  • sewing machine
  • Pan lid for drawing a circle, LOL

Step 1: Measuring and cutting the raincoat:

Most pins suggested a radius of about 9 inches. But, having to work with a raincoat which makes the front part (open, button-down front) unusable for this project. I needed two shower caps (parents with two kids would understand – one for each kid, whether the little one needed a shower cap or no) and the back portion was not enough to get two circles. Which means that, as usual, I did not strictly follow either of the tutorials but improvised once again.

With the help of the pan lid, I made a circle of about 7 inches in radius and another one 6 inches in radius. Only one circle could be centered around the prints of Bugs Bunny and Taz. The other one has a part of Sylvester’s face, a heart balloon and a part of Bugs Bunny’s face.

IMG_20170418_095129IMG_20170418_095142IMG_20170418_095449

Step 2: Cut long rectangular strips of roughly 5 inches in width from the remaining part of the raincoat.

IMG_20170418_101510

Step 3: Align right sides facing each other, sew the strips to the perimeter of the circle. This gave it more of a hat-like construction, than just a circle. Sorry, I don’t have a picture for this step.

Step 4: Fold and sew the casing wide enough to accommodate the elastic band/cord, leaving a gap of about 2 inches to insert the elastic.

IMG_20170418_111836-1

Step 5: With the help of a safety pin, slide the elastic band or cord through the casing and sew (band) or knot (in case of cord).

IMG_20170418_111836

Step 6: Push the elastic band/ cord inside the casing and finish sewing the casing. Turn the cap right side out and it would look like these:

IMG_20170418_113121-1

The big one fits Santoshi, yay! 

Looks cute, doesn’t it? Please let me know what you think. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

