DIY Bib

Hello!

As I was cleaning my kitchen, I got this one – an old 10-kg rice bag.

img_20161116_174823

The image of baby Krishna was too beautiful to be tossed in the trashcan. So, it got me thinking in to what could be done with this bag.

Just the earlier day, my younger daughter Anjana spilt yogurt on her uniform shirt while eating by herself. I wanted to make a bib.

Usually, the rice bags are made of jute or canvas. But this one was of a different material and had a lamination inside which made it waterproof. So, why not make it into a bib? I could, but there was one problem – my elder daughter Santoshi might (read will) blame me for making something special only for Anjana and how I don’t love her and so on.

But, Krishna saved me with a smaller image on the other side of the bag which could be used for Anjana and the bigger image for Santoshi.

img_20161116_174833

Things I used:

  • The old, 10-kg, waterproof rice bag (see pics above)
  • Scissors
  • Pieces of scrap fabric (pics below along with the steps)
  • Velcro
  • Sewing machine

Step 1: Cut two rectangles out of the bag (leaving enough margins on all sides of the image of Krishna for folding/ seam allowance).

img_20161116_175704

Step 2: Choose and cut fabric for the top of the bib (to cover the ‘Since 1972 – Gokul super premium raw rice’ text and also so that the bag does not scrape the skin) and the straps to go around the neck.

Fabric for the top portion:

img_20161116_180508

I used the ribbons from Anjana’s old frock for straps:

 

Step 3: Align the right sides together of the fabric for the top and the bib. Fold the seam and sew the fabric just below the ‘super premium raw rice text’ so that once it is folded up, it will cover the text.

img_20161118_091819

Step 4: Fold the top of the bag twice and sew the seam on all four sides.

img_20161118_091947

Step 5: Fold the fabric over and sew the top end of the fabric to the top end of the bag and you will end up with this:

img_20161118_092638

Step 6: Cut each of the ribbons into half.

img_20161118_092725

Step 7: Attach velcro patches to one end of each ribbon and align and sew them to the top of the bib.

wp-1479441834696.jpg

Here is the finished piece! This one (with the bigger image) is for Santoshi.

I know it still looks like a bag (the straps looking like the handles of the bag) but I think it will serve the purpose of saving the clothes from the stains and spills. The bib could be shaped at the neckline and also have rounded corners. Doing so will require casing or piping and i have never tried them. So, I decided to keep it simple.

I have to do the bib for Anjana, may be over the weekend.

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

