DIY Minnie Mouse Costume for Toddler

Hi!

I recently had a chance to do a costume and this time I was extra excited because this would be the first costume for my younger daughter Anjana who is two years old.

The playgroup to which she goes put up a message on the notice board a few days back that 14 November 2016 would be a fancy dress day and the theme was cartoon characters.  Minnie Mouse was the obvious choice because Anjana loves Minnie Mouse and the costume was relatively easier to make than others like Daisy Duck or Ariel or Dumbo. As usual, I googled images of Minnie Mouse costume for toddlers to get a fair idea of what sort of a frock Anjana would need apart from the Minnie Mouse ears and bow.

Materials used:

  • A hairband
  • Glitter foam sheets (black and red)
  • A black Sharpie
  • A pair of scissors
  • Glue
  • Print out of a silhouette of Minnie Mouse face for the bow
  • A small piece of cardboard (2 inches in width, 4 inches in length)
  • Duct tape

materials-used

Step 1: Mark this shape (twice – one set for each ear) on the glitter foam sheet (black) which would form the ears and cut them out.

minnie-ears

Step 2: Place the pieces on the top of the hair band in such a way that the rectangle between the circles would rest on the band.  Place the ears with a gap of about 3 inches between them.

minnie-ears-placement

Step 3: Glue the pieces together.

minnie-ears-glued-on

This is where I realized that I had made a mistake. The ears were drooping down (I was so upset hat I did not take a picture of the droopy ears) because of two reasons:

  • The glitter foam sheet was not firm enough to stand upright
  • The central rectangle for too big (bigger than the width of the hairband)

So, a quick change of plan because I lost my patience or enthusiasm.

  • I removed the ears from the hairband and cut the central rectangle out from both pieces.
  • I cut out two strips (1 inch wide and about 4 inches in length) of cardboard (from an Amazon delivery box).
  • The cardboard strips were place on the hairband similar to the image below (again, no pic, thanks to my impatience).
  • Apply glue in the centre and the edges of the strips. Fold them together so that the edges are aligned and the centre rests on the hairband. In a way, they would resemble like horns protruding from the hairband.

hairband-with-cardboard-pieces

  • Since the glue would not dry immediately, so I secured each strip with duct tape. Now, the cardboard strips stood up on its own.
  • As the glitter foam sheet was lightweight, the circles were glued on to either side of the cardboard strips so that it would now look like Mickey Mouse’s ears.

Step 4: Cut bow to shape and place it on the red glitter foam sheet. Trace the outline and cut the bow of the red glitter foam sheet. Use the Sharpie to add details to the bow.

minnie-mouse-bow

Step 5: Glue the bow to the ears on the hairband. My glue did not work well to hold the glitter sheet (because the surface was not smooth due to the glitter), so I used some duct tape on the back of the bow to secure the bow to the ears. I did not align the bow to the centre, so it is a bit to the right, but not too obvious. So I can live with it.

My daughter has a cute pink frock with a Minnie Mouse printed on it and a pair of red colour shoes with a bow.  Here is our little Minnie Mouse:

minnie-mouse-2

I know, she does not look very happy 😦

One more pic:

minnie1

One thought on “DIY Minnie Mouse Costume for Toddler

  1. Pingback: DIY Crayon Costume | crazycookup

Leave a Reply

